November Wrap-Up: TOTAL FAIL

Oh hey there!

It’s been a hot minute since I made a normal post, you know?… and I unfortunately don’t even have much to show for it. I was doing so well with NaNoWriMo up until last weekend and then ALL my writing went out the window. Not to make an excuse or anything, but it’s been two years since I spent a holiday with my family (my boyfriend’s family is always kind enough to treat me like one of their own so I usually spend it with them) so I was just UBER happy my brother decided to spend Thanksgiving with me. So I kind of wrangled him into Thanksgiving with the BF’s family which is always super comforting and fun, and then we actually attempted to go Black Friday shopping. My second time ever doing that. And my last.

But either way, it totally killed my numbers goal so I’m frightfully behind the 50,000 word mark. I think I hit around 30,000 and then just lost it 😦

So not only did I go pretty much AWOL from the blog, but I didn’t even succeed in finishing NaNoWriMo (because let’s face it, I can’t write 20,000 words in two days).

However, even with that “failure” behind me, I really, truly believe this was one of the most rewarding writing experiences I’ve ever had. Writing by hand and then typing worked so, so well for me. It allowed me to get an intuitive grasp on the story I’ve never experienced before and I was able to recognize what it was lacking or where it got boring. When I typed at the end of the day, could then go on to elaborate and be super descriptive because by then I knew exactly what was going on in the story, how the character would act, and what the dialogue would be like. It was like a run-through of a scene where I could see the actors on stage contemplating, “well, what does my character feel right now? What is her motivation?”

It sounds silly, but it also let me twist and turn the story to create better conflict. I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time dealing with conflict in my everyday life, so creating it on purpose is so counter intuitive. But, after handwriting a scene, I was free to put on my Snidley Whiplash mustache and write CONFLICT GALORE for my poor little darlings.

So, even though I didn’t reach my word count, I gained a lot more from the process than I would have if I had just typed the story like normal. Yes, double-writing is a lot more time consuming, but I think I finally found an approach to writing that works best for me.

 ⚜️

And as for BOOKS! Dear me, I failed again.

My TBR is so cute… Illuminae, The Royal Elites, and Shadow and Bone.


I got 2/3 (Illuminae, you are next, my little tragic scifi book), and also tacked on installment number 3 and 4 in the Locke and Key graphic novel series by Joe Hill. I super recommend these, they’re so well written and drawn. They’re perfect for when your brain is going to explode. I read them before sleep to calm my brain even though they’re horror stories. I feel like they’re more engrossing than a regular book but less stimulating than an iPhone when you’re trying to wind down from the day.

Yes. It was that kind of a month 🙃

I just have to say… I did not like Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I’m sorry… I know she’s a YA supergod right now, and I’m sure Six of Crows is better (it damn well has to be, in my mind), but I just could not take it seriously. It was like reading some highschool fanfiction. My biggest issue was the main character who had little to no continuity… her personality was all over the place. She reminded me of Bella Swan 2.0 in terms that she had a personality (whereas Bella didn’t) but it was still all over the place. But I still have faith in Bardugo and will try Six of Crows next time. The magic system and the angst were well-written so I think there’s something to be said for Bardugo’s writing.


😍

But, I loooooooooooved The Royal Elites by Marie Lu. I want to crawl inside the book and gather all the characters into my arms and hiss at whoever tries to hurt them. I love them all. I want to know them all. I want to be in the book even though it’s one of the most depressing narratives I’ve ever read. I highly recommend it if you like darker fantasy. It isn’t a horror, but it’s definitely made up of dark themes.

So, all-in-all, a very manic type of month. Not “successful” in terms of goals, but I gained a lot of perspective and there were some educational bits thrown around in there.

How about you guys? I’m reading through the NaNoWriMo wrap-up posts because this was an adventure for us all. I’m definitely going to continue writing this story (it has potential, guys!) and I have a couple of good projects coming up to share with you guys!

Until next time!

 

Live,

⚜️

Morgan Paige

5 thoughts on “November Wrap-Up: TOTAL FAIL

  1. Well done on the NaNo progress! Don’t beat yourself up for not hitting your Word Count. I think the fact you actually sat down and wrote anything is a success in itself, many don’t! I was signed up to NaNo for 4 years before this one, and never took part in them at all! So well done 🙂 I think it’s great you learnt something too, writing is constantly about learning and it sounds like you’ve made your story better as a whole. Just keep going now 🙂

    1. Thanks for such kind words! I’m still writing the story, which is a plus, so it at least set me up to keep going and gave me a good foundation. I did the same as you lol I signed up for NaNoWriMo a few times before actually participating 🙂 I’m thinking about doing the 6 month mark… I think it’s either May or June that NaNo begins again? It might be easier without a huge holiday like Thanksgiving. 🙂

      1. Glad I’m not alone then! Haha. I think we just have to wait until the time is right, then something clicks and away we go, pens in hand! I’m glad to hear you’re still writing your story, keep it up! Will be interested to see the finished article 🙂

Leave a Reply

